Monday, October 13, 2008

Breaches by Russia of the Ceasefire Agreement: CHECKPOINTS

10 October 2008

The Russian Army has illegally established 25 checkpoints deep within sovereign Georgian territory, contravening the six-point ceasefire agreement brokered by France. As of 10 October 4 Checkpoints still remain in Georgia in the territories adjacent to the Tskhinvali Region/South Ossetia, Georgia. Russian troops are also in upper Abkhazia (Kodori gorge).

There are an estimated 400 Russian soldiers and 30 Armored Personal Carriers stationed at these checkpoints. Additionally, there are an estimated 7,000 Russian soldiers in Abkhazia and in the Tskhinvali region.

List of checkpoints in the teritory adjacent to the South Ossetia Region

1. Perevi (Sachkhere district) paratroopers company, 7 APC, 3 Ural type car, 100 servicemen
2. 1 km north of Odzisi in the Akhalgori district: 6 APC, 100 Russian servicemen.
3. Village Mosabruni (Akhalgori district): 6 APC, 100 Russian Servicemen.
4. Village Ikoti (Akhalgori District): 6 APC, 100 Russian Servicemen.

This map gives an overview of the current checkpoint in the territories adjacent to South Ossetia